=}ESAW{= Extreme Soldiers At War

You are not logged in.

#1 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 1:07 am

awolf115
Member
From: South Carolina
Registered: Wed, Apr 29, 2009
Reputation: +0 / -0
Posts: 184
Xfire

ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

Coolermaster HAF 932 full size  case                        $139.00   Tiger direct

AMD Phenom ||x4 965 3.4 Black edition cpu             $175.00   e bay

ASUS Amd785g  M4A 785 TD-V EVO  MOBO             $100.00   e bay

LITE ON 24x sata DVD RW  Drive   or  LG  22x DVD RW    $31.91 vs $30.00


W D  500 gb 16 mb  Hard Drive  or the  W D  Raptor  320 H D  $62.00 vs $109.99

GTX  260  or  ATI  5770   Video card      $154.00  vs  $160.00

650 or  750  watt  power supply   $85.00  to  $99.00  for  either

Kingston  DDR 3  1333  memory  2-2GB sticks    $149.00                  $894.00 or $961.90

Ive been thinking of trying to build one so i can play my B C-2  game and get better action on NYC server.  I know it wont help my score just stop the lag i get sometimes from overworking my e-machine.  Thanks  i respect your input as you all have been helpful to me.  wolf..

Last edited by awolf115 (Fri, Apr 02, 2010 10:20 pm)

Offline

#2 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 2:28 am

Guerrilla
Guest

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

looks good to me... but i dont really know shzzle from dizzle when it comes to computers xD

#3 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 2:30 am

Wreckahoe
Founder
Roster Status: Clan Founder
From: Your mom's room
Registered: Sun, Jul 06, 2008
Reputation: +48 / -2
Posts: 2,000
Xfire

 
Rank
cptwreckahoe
Score: 32,873,119
31,846 K / 30,131 D
Dogtags: 136

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

screw the amd go intel at least with intel U can use the stock cooler till u get an after market. U dont have to go I-7 775 is good enough and the standard. It doesnt have to be quad core intel but it is nice,. Ther are some very nice and afforadible duel cores out there that kick ass. 5200,6700 series etc. as far as cards try the ati i would say. and 750 psu. but this is off the top of my head after 3 forties and some snaups however u spell it.  schnapps apple pucker


Mag_Test_1.jpg

2618339.png
y2r7lr.png
4dh5pb.png

Offline

#4 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 6:25 am

xPlozion
хρʟᴏᴢɪᴏɳ|хɢ
Roster Status: Clan Leader
From: Newark, DE
Registered: Sat, Dec 27, 2008
Reputation: +43 / -32
Posts: 2,478
Website Xfire

 
Rank
IxPlozionI
Score: 5,260,519
7,430 K / 5,067 D
Dogtags: 338

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

if u order from microcenter, you can get an i7 930 pretty cheap (~$200 range)

also, for hdds, you don't want a caviar blue/green.  get the black, as it's got a 32mb cache and dual procs. this allows for faster i/o's

you may want to take a look at vai's thread about a new pc, as I'm gonna suggest a lot of the same things in here too smile

you don't need the 850w psu, but i will always stand by corsair psu's


signature.png

Offline

#5 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 10:29 am

Guerrilla
Guest

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a … 13-131-631
one of my semi computer savvy friends recommended this board for when i build mine.

#6 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 11:21 am

Vai
Member
Roster Status: Clan Member
Registered: Wed, Aug 19, 2009
Reputation: +31 / -1
Posts: 505
Xfire

 
Rank
_Vai_
Score: 1,286,000
1,109 K / 2,074 D
Dogtags: 39

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

Awolf from what I can see these boys can not seem to agree with each other. My recommendation is that you do a lot of reading first. Educate yourself.  I did a lot of Google camparisions like what is the difference in cache size on the HD and why does it matter. Once you have knowledge of these types of things it is easier to make a decision a about what works for your needs.

I am going I7 930 2.8ghz
Evga x58 chipset mobo
6 gigs of 1333mghz ram ddr3
2 750 gig hd's 16 MB cache western digital
1 ati HD 5870 1 gb

The larger cache HD has faster ins and out but is not as reliable for storage purposes according to all I have read. Cool and Wreck both said go with the higher cache HD but I edit video and music and I need stable drives not just super fast for gaming

Last edited by Vai (Fri, Apr 02, 2010 11:23 am)


7.62 mm FMJ  The ultimate problem solver!
377150369.jpg

Offline

#7 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 12:23 pm

xPlozion
хρʟᴏᴢɪᴏɳ|хɢ
Roster Status: Clan Leader
From: Newark, DE
Registered: Sat, Dec 27, 2008
Reputation: +43 / -32
Posts: 2,478
Website Xfire

 
Rank
IxPlozionI
Score: 5,260,519
7,430 K / 5,067 D
Dogtags: 338

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

Vai wrote:

I edit video and music and I need stable drives not just super fast for gaming

that's why i suggested going the raid 1 route.  In the unfortunate event of a sudden hdd crash, you've still got all of your files mirrored on the other one.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID_1#RAID_1


signature.png

Offline

#8 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 12:42 pm

coolrunnin
Administrator
Roster Status: Clan Leader
Registered: Mon, Jul 07, 2008
Reputation: +33 / -8
Posts: 10,000,831
Xfire
Rank
coolrunnin
Score: 6,502,995
8,617 K / 5,080 D
Dogtags: 46

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

Vai wrote:

Awolf from what I can see these boys can not seem to agree with each other. My recommendation is that you do a lot of reading first. Educate yourself.  I did a lot of Google camparisions like what is the difference in cache size on the HD and why does it matter. Once you have knowledge of these types of things it is easier to make a decision a about what works for your needs.

I am going I7 930 2.8ghz
Evga x58 chipset mobo
6 gigs of 1333mghz ram ddr3
2 750 gig hd's 16 MB cache western digital
1 ati HD 5870 1 gb

The larger cache HD has faster ins and out but is not as reliable for storage purposes according to all I have read. Cool and Wreck both said go with the higher cache HD but I edit video and music and I need stable drives not just super fast for gaming

Did you honestly do any reading at all? Did you understand any of it?  As you just contradicted yourself, If  having fast drives helps in gaming when loading maps or faster bootup times it also helps alot more when video editing from the amount of data a hd has to read /write.  As for being  reliable raid1 with 2 fast drives is the most reliable it has nothing to do with size/cache/rpm of hd as any hd can fail.


I am mentally challenging you.....so consider yourself mentally challenged.

2680525.png

887884.png

5czer1.png

Offline

#9 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 12:49 pm

Wreckahoe
Founder
Roster Status: Clan Founder
From: Your mom's room
Registered: Sun, Jul 06, 2008
Reputation: +48 / -2
Posts: 2,000
Xfire

 
Rank
cptwreckahoe
Score: 32,873,119
31,846 K / 30,131 D
Dogtags: 136

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

first off no one is ever going to agree on what to put in a PC. Everyone has the things they like. raid raptor ati nvidia etc. etc. etc. I dont give a shit about a raid anything tryed it was a waste of two drives to me. But thats me. i run a raptor for C drive and have 3 00 gig WDS 16 mbs for storage and a back up OS. Works for me. larger cache faster drives. bottomline. Like the lady said in Airplane. CHUMP DONT WANT DA HELP CHUMP WONT GET THE HELP..JIVE ASS NIGGA AINT GOT NO BRAINS ANY HOW.


Mag_Test_1.jpg

2618339.png
y2r7lr.png
4dh5pb.png

Offline

#10 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 1:37 pm

xPlozion
хρʟᴏᴢɪᴏɳ|хɢ
Roster Status: Clan Leader
From: Newark, DE
Registered: Sat, Dec 27, 2008
Reputation: +43 / -32
Posts: 2,478
Website Xfire

 
Rank
IxPlozionI
Score: 5,260,519
7,430 K / 5,067 D
Dogtags: 338

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

stay away from the caviar greens, they are energy efficient drives which you will notice are slower (5400 rpm) than the blacks (7200 rpm).  the blues are mid grade for people who don't care much for speeds.

The blacks come with 32 or 64meg cache and dual processors.

I would only recommend caviar greens for file storage.  I've got a 640 currently in a comp and i notice how horribly slow it is running an os (win 7).  I intended to use it for our file server (stream music and backups).


While the raptors are good drives, they come with the same issue that ssd drives currently have.  their price/gig is a bit too expensive.  You can get a 750gb caviar black for ~$75 or a 160gb raptor for ~$200.  That's 10¢ per gig on the caviars, but $1.25 per gig on a raptor


signature.png

Offline

#11 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 1:40 pm

Mark
Member
From: North Carolina
Registered: Sun, Apr 19, 2009
Reputation: +1 / -3
Posts: 134
Xfire

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

Well I would say use a 890GX mobo, that way you have a backup video source.
The HD 5770  is a Real good card, I have one in my machine now a Sapphire.
The AMD 965 is a fantastic cpu, but get the HDZ965FBGMBOX part number. I use a 3 core 720
Get a WE 640 Black with 32mb cache it makes a difference, No Raid its a hassle.  SSD drives are coming down in price, so you can later get one of those for a main drive.  I use a SSD 64gig.
Ram you picked out is fine.
AMD is good. Dont worry. Personally I am not in the business of running benchmarks or video editing to impress someone I dont know.

By the way I use AMD and Intc in different machines. So I am not partial.

Offline

#12 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 1:44 pm

xPlozion
хρʟᴏᴢɪᴏɳ|хɢ
Roster Status: Clan Leader
From: Newark, DE
Registered: Sat, Dec 27, 2008
Reputation: +43 / -32
Posts: 2,478
Website Xfire

 
Rank
IxPlozionI
Score: 5,260,519
7,430 K / 5,067 D
Dogtags: 338

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

I will be the first to admit I'm an Intel nvidia fan boy. I've got nothing against amd/ati, I've just used them my whole life (even before building/gaming)


signature.png

Offline

#13 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 1:47 pm

Wonka
Guest

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

It's technically not cache on a hard drive any way its a buffer, this buffer does not have any affect on the hard drives life, but RPM does. If you are concerned with losing data go raid and get the larger buffered drives. Reliability is lost when you get drives that are high speed but in raid who cares you just slap a new one in and the system will rebuild it. Raid 1 is a 1:1 copy of a drive and you only need 2 drives to do this. There is no speed increase doing this but they are very reliable unless both fail. Raid 5 is one of the best forms of raid for a home but requires at least 3 drives to do this. Raid 0 will give you a speed increase but does nothing for you on the side of safety of data, Raid 0 stripes 2 drives to increase the speed but if you lose one you lose all the data on both.

#14 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 4:43 pm

Vai
Member
Roster Status: Clan Member
Registered: Wed, Aug 19, 2009
Reputation: +31 / -1
Posts: 505
Xfire

 
Rank
_Vai_
Score: 1,286,000
1,109 K / 2,074 D
Dogtags: 39

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

I did read. I continue to read. I continue to ask questions. Maybe I did not understand. The Google comparisions said that the larger the cache on the HD the more likely you were to have problems with file stability. I think I said I was sacrificing some speed for stability.  If did not articulate that point well my bad.


7.62 mm FMJ  The ultimate problem solver!
377150369.jpg

Offline

#15 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 7:15 pm

Wonka
Guest

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

I would like to read the article that said that a larger "buffer" like I said before it is not real cache said that it would cause issues with file stability. The only thing a lager buffer is for is to speed up process' called on by storing a little more of the used data.

#16 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 8:20 pm

Vai
Member
Roster Status: Clan Member
Registered: Wed, Aug 19, 2009
Reputation: +31 / -1
Posts: 505
Xfire

 
Rank
_Vai_
Score: 1,286,000
1,109 K / 2,074 D
Dogtags: 39

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

I have relooked at the forum links and I am unable to find the link Chaos. Maybe I am an idiot and I truly do not understand.

The comment about the larger buffer/cache was in a tech forums and it said that the larger the buffer the more apt to have file corruption. Maybe the idiot in the forum did not know what he was talking about either.

I am scared to ask what makes the difference in setting up the raid. 0 or 1 or whatever. Is this a configuration or must you purchase the right kind of drive here for the different raid configurations?


7.62 mm FMJ  The ultimate problem solver!
377150369.jpg

Offline

#17 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 8:33 pm

xPlozion
хρʟᴏᴢɪᴏɳ|хɢ
Roster Status: Clan Leader
From: Newark, DE
Registered: Sat, Dec 27, 2008
Reputation: +43 / -32
Posts: 2,478
Website Xfire

 
Rank
IxPlozionI
Score: 5,260,519
7,430 K / 5,067 D
Dogtags: 338

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

New mobo's come with on board raid chips.  They use your processor to perform the task.  Another option is a raid controller.  They're moderately inexpensive unless you have some crazy requirement (raid 5 would be an example).  For my mobo, I just go into the BIOS and there's an option for raid management.  You generally have to reinstall your operating system though...

Striped is raid 0, meanwhile mirroring is raid 1. Striped has no redundancy, thus isn't really raid (redundant array of inexpensive discs), but w/e...  If you want speed and security, you'll need 4 drives (raid 10, which is a 2 drives in raid 0 mirrored to 2 additional drives), or 3 if you want to go the raid 5 route.  You'll need a dedicated raid controller for raid 5 though and that can cost you a couple hundred $$$


PS, I was gonna mention something about the source's credibility, of whether or not it could be trusted.   It could have been either an inexperienced benchmarker or someone who had no factual evidence to support his case


signature.png

Offline

#18 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 9:08 pm

Crasher
Retired
Registered: Fri, May 22, 2009
Reputation: +2 / -1
Posts: 261


 

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

Hey Vai,  been through this not too long ago and found many forums with a lot of bogus and biased information.  It's hard to filter out who are knowledgeable and who are not.

Got my system together with the help here and couldn't be happier.  Build went smoothly and all components working together nicely.  Details of my build in this thread:

http://www.esaw2012.com/forums/viewtopi … d=1471&p=3

For video and music recording/editing which I also do,  I find either of my systems more than adequate.

My slightly older system has 4GB ram, E7400 Core2 Duo OC'd to 3.5Ghz using WD Caviar Black and ATI 4890 Vid.  My newer gaming system also has 4 GB ram but Q9550 OC'd to 3.8 Ghz, WD Raptor Drive and WD Caviar Black and ATI 5850 vid card.  Both MOBO's are Asus.  Both running Win 7 Ultimate but older is 32 bit and newer is 64 bit.  Both have Xygmatel cpu coolers and a ton of fans.

I also have an M-Audio PCI card for recording using a Behringer mixer.  I do a lot of family slideshows and video editing on Sony Vegas and Soundforge and Proshow Gold.

Not all the members have the exact same configurations but they have years of experience in producing stable systems which is key.

Last edited by Crasher (Fri, Apr 02, 2010 9:09 pm)

Offline

#19 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 9:13 pm

xPlozion
хρʟᴏᴢɪᴏɳ|хɢ
Roster Status: Clan Leader
From: Newark, DE
Registered: Sat, Dec 27, 2008
Reputation: +43 / -32
Posts: 2,478
Website Xfire

 
Rank
IxPlozionI
Score: 5,260,519
7,430 K / 5,067 D
Dogtags: 338

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

I wish I could learn how to be good at Sony Vegas/Adobe Premier and that kind of stuff.  I'm not gonna take any formal classes though, and I can't find any good tuts online...

oh well, you can't have your cake and eat it too...


signature.png

Offline

#20 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 9:43 pm

Crasher
Retired
Registered: Fri, May 22, 2009
Reputation: +2 / -1
Posts: 261


 

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

xPlozion wrote:

I wish I could learn how to be good at Sony Vegas/Adobe Premier and that kind of stuff.  I'm not gonna take any formal classes though, and I can't find any good tuts online...

oh well, you can't have your cake and eat it too...

You really leaving gaming?  I just started but I call myself a casual gamer.  I have a busy life but some distractions are needed.

Offline

#21 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 10:07 pm

xPlozion
хρʟᴏᴢɪᴏɳ|хɢ
Roster Status: Clan Leader
From: Newark, DE
Registered: Sat, Dec 27, 2008
Reputation: +43 / -32
Posts: 2,478
Website Xfire

 
Rank
IxPlozionI
Score: 5,260,519
7,430 K / 5,067 D
Dogtags: 338

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

Trying to... been without it for about a week (sunday).  It's consumed too much of my life and I'm too young to be inside consumed with video games.  I realized that I would not be able to lessen the amount of time spent gaming, so my best option was to just quit cold turkey.

I've been gaming since I was 5 (almost 21 now), and it wasn't bad when I was younger, but now that I'm out of school, I've become addicted to the point where I basically have no social life outside of the clan and family... I would like to do positive things with my life.


signature.png

Offline

#22 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 11:15 pm

awolf115
Member
From: South Carolina
Registered: Wed, Apr 29, 2009
Reputation: +0 / -0
Posts: 184
Xfire

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

XP,
       You don't have to quit.  Im 54 and just started gaming awhile ago. But aside from work i ride my harley, go fishing(mostly with the wife she likes it too) Have quite a few R/C trucks and cars and if thats not enough i shoot my guns.  You just have balance out your day.   Your still young, Is there a field of work your interested in. Maybe start your own computer repair store? There is a young man in my town 19 has his own store and is busy all the time. You got plenty of time so don't worry.

Wolf

Offline

#23 Fri, Apr 02, 2010 11:28 pm

xPlozion
хρʟᴏᴢɪᴏɳ|хɢ
Roster Status: Clan Leader
From: Newark, DE
Registered: Sat, Dec 27, 2008
Reputation: +43 / -32
Posts: 2,478
Website Xfire

 
Rank
IxPlozionI
Score: 5,260,519
7,430 K / 5,067 D
Dogtags: 338

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

But that's my problem, I can't manage my time playing games on computers.  Once I start, I can't seem to stop for anything other than sleep, which is significantly later than when I had planned on sleeping.  For me, it's either been all the time or absolutely none at all.

I'm just in a confused state of my life, where I don't know what I want to do or how I'm gonna get there... Quarter life crisis I tell ya.  I'm currently an electrician, but there's times that I hate it, and I'd like to get a good paying job...  All the scenario's keep playing in my mind and it's starting to give me headaches and doubts.

Any non-community colleges are out of the question, and even then I don't know what I want to get into... I've got so many other options that I keep playing through my head, and choosing the one that seems to make me happy is a tough choice...


Possible choices:
-Electrician
-Go to school and get into networking
-Work on security systems
-Work for a cable/utility company
-Become an officer
-Maybe join the services
-Volunteer for Americorps/Peacecorps
-Maybe work on motorcycles (currently have a sport bike)

I'm just confused and need what seems like forever to run through all the scenarios that will ultimately make me happiest


signature.png

Offline

#24 Sat, Apr 03, 2010 12:55 am

Vai
Member
Roster Status: Clan Member
Registered: Wed, Aug 19, 2009
Reputation: +31 / -1
Posts: 505
Xfire

 
Rank
_Vai_
Score: 1,286,000
1,109 K / 2,074 D
Dogtags: 39

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

Interesting development. I went to reclaim files off the HD that was in my old gaming rig. My Documents folder was completely empty like someone deleted absolutely everything in My Documents.... I mean it had zero bites of information. My sons Documents were in tact with no problems on recovery. I was also able to recover my cod 4 profiles and usermaps in the programs section of the HD.

Obviously I was hacked or I got a virus. I am behind a router so I am thinking maybe my kid downloaded a nasty program on accident. I am fairly certain I did not do it.

Question is, could deleting all files in my documents cause the problems I have experienced with the one revolution of the fan and no boot? I was able to format the drive. Drive is completely clean at this point. Should I try the old Mobo or go with this new one?

One other question. Can this Core Duo 3.2 ghz with four gig of ram run windows 7? I am thinking since I have to load the operating system anyway now would be a good time to put in windows 7.

Last edited by Vai (Sat, Apr 03, 2010 12:59 am)


7.62 mm FMJ  The ultimate problem solver!
377150369.jpg

Offline

#25 Sat, Apr 03, 2010 1:56 am

xPlozion
хρʟᴏᴢɪᴏɳ|хɢ
Roster Status: Clan Leader
From: Newark, DE
Registered: Sat, Dec 27, 2008
Reputation: +43 / -32
Posts: 2,478
Website Xfire

 
Rank
IxPlozionI
Score: 5,260,519
7,430 K / 5,067 D
Dogtags: 338

Re: ESAW- Your opinion on this setup

if you had vista or windows 7 on your old comp, it would read the current os's my documents, not what's on that hdd... i noticed that once with win7 trying to read a documents folder from the win7 rc1


signature.png

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Generated in 0.116 seconds, 87 queries executed - Memory usage: 4.25 MiB (Peak: 4.49 MiB) ]

BEER FUND
Donations

No one has bought us a beer yet.


Please consider buying us a beer

You'll like us better when we're drunk


Make A Donation